News & Media


School News

SASD Students, Staff Recognized by Herb Kohl Educational Foundation
Congratulations to the following Sheboygan Area School District students and staff member who were recognized by the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation.

Lisa Kraus, teacher at Farnsworth Elementary School, was selected as a Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Teacher Fellow. Fellowship recipients are chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and their leadership and service within and outside the classroom.

Morgan Ross, student at North High School, was selected as a Herb Kohl Education Foundation  Excellence Scholar. Excellence Scholarship recipients have demonstrated excellence in the academic arena and high motivation to achieve, have displayed a broad range of activity and leadership outside the academic setting, and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond.

Emma Gonzalaz, student at Central High School, and Aubrey Witt, student at IDEAS Academy, were selected as a Herb Kohl Education Foundation Initiative Scholars. Initiative Scholarship recipients, chosen by their schools, have demonstrated exceptional initiative in the classroom and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond, but have not yet received other academic-based scholarships.

The Kohl Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship program was established by Herb Kohl, U.S. Senator (Retired) in 1990 and in recognition of the foundation's 25th anniversary, Herb Kohl has increased awards to each scholar and fellow to $3,000, and $3,000 to each fellow's school. Previously, each award recipient received $1,000.

Sheboygan Area School District Press Release
May 11, 2015